06 September 2011

Mikey comes Good with new tunes

Mikey Good is a new up and coming DJ aiming to make it big in the competitive world of House and Electro music. With inspirations of becoming a big name, Mikey has uploaded several of his latest tracks to SoundCloud at Mikey Good. After a few listens to the Manhattan born DJ’s tracks it’s easy to see he has talent. The track Danza Palazzo stands out with it's progressive and acid house undertones and shuffled beats. A classic beat mixing elements of funk that are reminiscent of some of Daft Punks hits. The tune features a slow piano section mid way through, which makes it stand out from other similar tracks in the genre.

Mikey seems to have taken some inspiration from Swedish born Avicii. The DJ famous for producing the song “Seek Bromance” which listed on the UK singles charts and reached number 1 on the International Beatport chart. Mikey’s Danza Palazzo track has a similarity to Avicii’s Bromance with a mixture of slow and fast tempos and a hard electro beat. If you are a fan of Avicii we suggest you check Mickey out.

Mickey has a diverse selection of tracks with Afternoon Special sounding like something Lil Wayne would rap over. The other two songs on his sound cloud are remixes of M.I.A.’s Paper Planes and a classic Dusty Springfield track, which show the artists great diversity.

31 May 2011

High five for Blue Tunes Recordings

Blue Tunes recordings celebrate their 5 years in the airwaves with High Five.

All the tracks are very well thought of to the last detail with shiny monster productions and strong beats. Nothing is left to chance.

There is enough originality and passion in this compilation to prove that Blue Tunes are still in touch with the cutting edge of the progressive trance genre.

20 May 2011

Uxmal completes encoder operations

The Mexican Uxmal records releases Encoder Operations, a progressive trance effort with 9 previously unreleased tracks.

With strong kicks and heavy percussion this compilation edges on the harder side of progressive trance with a distinct psychedelic element. From a production point of view, all the arrangements are well formed and sounding crisp, ideal for the dancefloor.

14 May 2011

Trance video: Nicolas Jaar - Time For Us

A hypnotic tech house gem from Nicolas Jaar. Enjoy.

29 April 2011

Progressive Antimateria from Nuuktal

The second compilation from Nuuktal records from Cuernavaca in Mexico, is even stronger than the first.  
Antimateria was compiled by F-Zero and features 8 thumping progressive trance tunes.

Apart from good productions all round, the music demonstrates an ability to convey emotion, something not always found in electronic dance music.
The pace is on the slow side giving the tracks enough room for bass sounds.

12 April 2011

Phacelift - Fantasy Land

Featuring samples of friends voices, Fantasy Land is a steady build up track for the morning progressive stage. Slow and patient, perfect for those hours that you  are tired but want to keep on dancing, at a lower pace.

This is true progressive psytrance track with a strong psychedelic element and prog rhythms. There is a few sounds constantly dancing around the speakers, yet the arrangement is still minimalistic and relatively simple.

01 April 2011

I Love You, Who are you Ticon?

Iboga records presents the latest album by Ticon (previously on Digital Structures). The band is releasing music again after 3 years of inactivity and what an album they have in store for us.

A bonus CD with Ticon remixes from established artists as well as other artists remixing Ticon tracks is included to complete a monster 19 track release. 

Ticon depart their usual lightweight psychedelic trance style and perform a U-turn to more progressive, techno and even tech-house sounds.

25 March 2011

Lish are miles away

You probably know what to expect from the Danish Iboga records by now. The latest album from Lish, Miles Away is no exception.

The impeccable style,a fantastic production and the usual progressive beats makes this one of the best releases in 2011 to date. Iboga hits back with an album from Lior Maimon and Shay Tiab aka Lish, that push the boundaries yet again. Progressive trance meets tech and funky house, with deep melodies and trippy sounds completing the picture.

16 March 2011

Riktam and Bansi in surprise Constructor business

The word on everyone's lips has to be "Who would have thought so?" or "What the hell?" or something similar. Riktam and Bansi the pillion of psychedelic trance through their G.M.S. outfit, in a shock move, a 360o U-point turn. Betraying every hardcore psy trancers' ideals they present Constructor, a progressive trance album.

What might be even more surprising for many, is that Plastic Park records, the German label on the progressive front of trance music is stepping in and presenting this to the masses. 

Truly fascinating stuff, now let's see if music has no boundaries...

12 March 2011

Haldolium Glow in the Dark

It is a new year and a new direction for the mighty Haldolium. More progressive than ever the brand new 2011 album GLW/DRK or Glow in the Dark is venturing into anthemic patterns with big melodies and imposing baselines.

The beats and percussion are strong but always verging on the progressive. Penetrating hi-hats and strong snares make up for a solid base. There is a small dose of psychedelic element mixed in and the overall feeling is deep rather than dark. Many familiar sounds from the past mixed with new arrangements give a retro impression with euro trance echoes without sounding old.

03 March 2011

TesseracT Studio produces Free Frequency

DJ Zoi kicks off this great compilation with a clear message: Cosmology. The sample is heard on the brilliant first track Day of Illusion by Kliment. And this is how Free Frequency begins. The roots of the compilation are placed in a series of progressive psytrance events in Greece.

The comp is dominated by artists Flegma, Nerso and Zyce who take part in more than half of the tracks. As you would expect some tracks edge on progressive house whilst other remind more of psychedelic trance.

04 February 2011

Extrasensory Perception of the Mikrokosmos

What better way to start 2011 with the latest compilation by Mikrokosmos records Extrasensory Perception 3. The third installment of the popular series features 9 previously unreleased tracks and is compiled by Liquid Soul and Martin aka Human Element.

There is no messing about here and Liquid Soul's remix to Ovnimoon, Galactic Mantra is straight to the point with a bubbly atmosphere building. Earsugar & Double Click add another dimension and ease through with their catchy melodies and funky groove. Maco's entrance to the game is not bad either, Phantasy is bouncy and has character building up.

06 January 2011

New Phacelift single in 2011

Phacelift are releasing their latest single Escape from Planet Weird on +DreamTeam records exclusively on iTunes and other online download services.

The single is a previously unreleased and remastered track from the Phacelift studio. With this latest release in 2011 the band is staging a come back to be continued with fresh tracks.

This release follows the success of Rhythm Selector, the previous mp3 download release, which quickly became popular.

03 January 2011

Best progressive trance DJs in 2010

The dawn of 2011 is bringing yet another exciting year for progressive trance. The Progressive Trance Network is generating a live list of the top voted DJs and here are the top 20 for 2010:
1. Armin Van Buuren
2. DJ Tiesto
3. Above & Beyond
4. Markus Schulz
5. ATB
6. Infected Mushroom
7. Paul Van Dyk
8. Ferry Corsten
9. Astrix
10. Gareth Emery